Governors Biographies


Helen Lello

Chair of Governors & Safeguarding Governor

Helen Lello

Having trained and worked in London, Helen is now a senior associate in the Farm & Estates team at Wilsons Solicitors in Salisbury.  Her two sons both attended Chafyn and during their time Helen was an active member of the parent body, including Chair of the Year Reps Committee.  Away from the office Helen enjoys many types of music, trips to the theatre and can often be found on a tennis court or in the garden.


Nick Jones

Marketing Governor

Nick Jones

For the past 20 years Mr Jones has been responsible for the corporate affairs activities of several international companies and is currently Communications Advisor at DSTL, Porton Down.  Recently appointed as a governor, he has a particular interest in marketing and governance matters.  He and his wife Chrissie have had all three children at Chafyn Grove.


Tom Clay

Tom Clay

Mr Clay worked in banking for 25 years and is now a director of a business providing services to the travel industry.  He has had three children at Chafyn Grove and is a member of the Finance Committee.  He has a particular interest in the borrowing and banking of the school.


Mark Mortimer

Chair of Education Committee

Mark Mortimer

Mr Mortimer is the current Headmaster of Warminster School and has been a governor since 2014.  He sits on the Education Committee.  He teachers history and, before becoming a teacher, spent eight years as an infantry officer and was also, briefly, a management consultant.

Governors & Staff


  • HEADMASTER – Simon Head, MA (Cantab), BA, PGCE
  • DEPUTY HEAD (ACADEMIC) – Dan Gazard B Ed (Hons)
  • DEPUTY HEAD (PASTORAL) – Lynsey Hearsey BA
  • BURSAR & CLERK TO THE GOVERNORS – Michelle Davies BA (Hons) Assoc CIPD
  • HEAD OF PRE-PREP – Catherine Jones B Ed (Hons)


  • Helen Lello – Chair of Governors & Governance of Nominations Committee
  • Yori Griffiths – Vice Chair of Governors
  • Nick Jones – Marketing Link Govenor
  • Michael Roller – Chair of Finance Committee
  • Mark Mortimer – Chair of Education & Pastoral Committee
  • Mark Wordsworth – Estates & H&S Link Governor
  • Anne-Marie Perry – Boarding Link & Safeguarding Lead Governor
  • Tom Clay
  • Debi Coveney

To contact the Chair of Governors, please write to:

Mrs Helen Lello
c/o Clerk to the Governors
Chafyn Grove School
Bourne Avenue
SP1 1LR 


  • Stewart Bell BSc, PGCE, Science Teacher
  • Ellie Buckey BA (Hons), MA (Cantab), PGCE Head of History Head of Years 6, 7 and 8
  • Dan Gazard B Ed (Hons) Head of Science & Director of Studies
  • Hannah Green BSc (Hons) Grad Dip Ed Maths Teacher
  • Tony Goddard HND, Cert HE Design Technology Teacher
  • Simon Head, MA (Cantab), BA, PGCE Head of Classics
  • Gary Hill BMus (Hons), PGCE Director of Music
  • Sally Anne Harrison Montessori Diploma, MA SEN Learning Support
  • Lynsey Hearsey BA Maths, Science and Games Teacher
  • William Hearsey BSc (Hons) Maths Teacher
  • Vicki Jagoe B Pharm Science Teacher & Librarian
  • Emma Killick GRSM (Hons), PGCE Assistant Director of Music, Year 5 Teacher
  • Edward Lewis BA (Hons), Head of Geography
  • Barbara Lovibond BA (Hons), PGCE Head of English
  • Amanda Maxwell BA (Hons), PGCE, Head of Modern Languages
  • Jenny McVeigh, EAL Teacher
  • Pippa Napier BA (Hons) APS, Montessori Diploma Learning Support
  • Marcus Reeve BA (Hons), PGCE Director of Sport
  • David Renham B Ed (Hons) Head of Maths
  • Hannah Rogers B Ed (Hons) Head of Girls’ Games
  • Rosie Rule B Ed Year 3 Teacher
  • Judy Salway BA (Hons) PGCE Head of Learning Support 
  • Rachel Shadlock B Ed (Hons) Head of Visual Arts
  • Michael Spice, BSc, PGCE Head of ICT 
  • Fiona Thomas B Ed (Hons) Year 4 Teacher
  • Lindsay Tory B Ed (Hons) Year 4 Teacher
  • Lucy Vuckovic BA (Hons), QTS Year 3 Teacher
  • Katie Walker BA (Hons), PGCE English, History and Maths Teacher
  • John Wallis BA (Hons), PGCE History, Classics and Games Teacher
  • Jason Webster B Ed (Hons) Senior Master, Head of RS, Head of Boarding
  • Sharon Webster B Ed (Hons) Year 4 Teacher
  • Vicki Wellman Games Teacher, Teaching Assistant
  • Rachel White BA (Hons), PGCE Year 4 Teacher


  • Mary Dyson BA (Hons), Montessori Diploma Year 2 Teacher
  • Sarah Head BA (Hons) Nursery Teacher
  • Catherine Jones B Ed (Hons) Head of Pre Prep & Teacher
  • Sian Jenkins Year 2 Teacher & TA
  • Helen Morgan B Ed (Hons) Reception Teacher
  • Natasha Tomalin, B Ed (Hons) Year 2 Teacher


  • Rebecca Blackwell Year 1 Teaching Assistant
  • Mandy Burt NVQ 3 Reception Teaching Assistant
  • Sian Jenkins BA Early Years Pre-Prep & Late List Teaching Assistant
  • Jenny Tyrer Years 1 & 2 Teaching Assistant


  • Karen Cannings LTCL Cert Ed Violin
  • Mary Chelu Flute
  • Sara-Lois Cunningham Singing
  • Glenn Dutfield CT, ABRSM Guitar
  • Chris Hurn BA (Hons) Cello
  • Mark Newman-Wren Brass
  • Meinir Ottoway GRNCM, PPRNCM Singing
  • Richard Perry NAPT Percussion
  • Sarah Price GRSM (Hons), LRAM Clarinet / Saxophone / Theory
  • Ute Schwarting Dipl Berlin Piano
  • Susan Topp GTCL, LTCL Saxophone / Clarinet / Theory
  • Rosalie Watson MMus, Bmu Oboe


  • Maria Farmer Medical Matron
  • Sarah King NNEB Pastoral Matron
  • Alice Lyons RGN, BSc (Hons) School Nurse
  • Rachel Purdy Medical Matron
  • Dr Sam Dominey MRCGP School Doctor
  • Alison Wells Assistant Boarding House Matron


  • Claire Horsfall Finance Manager (Fees & Payroll)
  • Penny Littleton School Shop Manager
  • Paula Mortimer Network Manager
  • Katie Straker HR/Compliance Officer
  • Sabrina Strong Marketing Manager
  • Claire Ward Headmaster’s Personal Assistant & Registrar
  • Alison Wilby School Secretary
  • Ginny Woodhouse Finance Manager (Purchase Leger & Management Accounts)


  • Christine Fuller Maintenance Assistant
  • Ryan Gibbs Handyman / Caretaker
  • Dave Lawrence Head Groundsman
  • Toby White DipHE AssocRICS TechIOSH Assistant Bursar


  • Kim Read City & Guilds 705/1, 705/2


  • Paula Yates


  • Arthur Garvan (2019)
  • Gemma Holborow (2019)
  • Ella Kuchel (2019)
  • Fraser Menzies (2019)


Chafyn holds formal Open Days each term, but parents are welcome to arrange a visit via the office for whatever day suits.



Please use the Contact Form or telephone our School Office. Click here to find out more.



Freedom to smile